TONGUE SAUSAGE


Anis Cafe and Bistro
March 26, 2009, 5:06 pm
Filed under: Restaurant Reviews | Tags: ,

img_0007

The moment I saw this place, I knew I had to check it out.  Anis is tucked away on Grandview Avenue, but stands out thanks to the abandoned VW Beetle, plants, and other decorations that adorn the front of this converted old house.  The inside is just as cozy, with a large covered patio, old hardwood floors, and plenty of artwork and memorabilia lining the walls.

Today I went to Anis for lunch with a close friend.  The food was reasonably priced, and everything on the menu sounded so good I had a really hard time deciding what to order.  I eventually decided on the Cured Salmon Croque Monsieur, a sandwich consisting of smoked salmon, tomato, red onion, capers, and goat cheese.  She had the Quiche of the day, with asparagus and goat cheese.  We each started the meal with cups of the tomato-basil soup. 

Everything was good, not great.  I am a huge fan of lox (smoked salmon), capers, cream cheese, and red onion on a bagel.  While including practically the same ingredients, my sandwich lacked the great combination of flavors I am used to.  On top of this, the toasted bread was way too greasy.  I walked away wishing I had tried the Mussels or the Steak and Frites.

For now, I’m going to hold off on giving Anis Cafe and Bistro my official recommendation.  I love the atmosphere and I’ve heard great things, so I’ll be back.  Hopefully the food will be a little more memorable next time.

Anis Cafe and Bistro is located at 2974 Grandview Ave, Atlanta.  They are open for both lunch and dinner.  They have two other restaurants: Pastis in Roswell and Django in Midtown.  Entrees at Anis range $10-20 for lunch and $20-30 for dinner.

Website

Anis on Urbanspoon

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

