TONGUE SAUSAGE


OK Cafe
April 18, 2009, 1:32 pm
Filed under: Restaurant Reviews | Tags: ,

okcafe

I visited OK Cafe on a lunch outing with my grandmother this past week (really cute, I know).  I had heard about it and driven by it many times, so I was excited to check it out.  We arrived at 1:00 and it was still completely packed from lunch.  They claim to serve more customers than any full-service restaurant in Georgia, so I guess I should have been prepared.

During our wait, I got to check out the atmosphere.  Although they opened in 1987, they’ve done a great job creating the feel of a classic American diner.  The kitchen is open and loaded with flat-top grills and fryers.  The booths and tables are retro.  The servers are dressed in classic diner apparel: blue and white collared dresses with aprons and matching hats (I think 50’s-ish, but I don’t really know since I was born in the 80’s).  Everything in here takes you on a trip back in time.

The menu is large and loaded with classic comfort food for breakfast lunch and dinner.  It was tough to decide, and I hadn’t really done much research about what they might be known for.  I should have asked the waitress, but I decided to just go with the meatloaf.  I’m sort of a meatloaf connoisseur and it was on their “Blue Plate Special” menu, so I figured it must be good.  For my sides, I got the macaroni and cheese and green beans.  We also got the fried green tomatoes, which were a special that day, as our starter… Also one of my favorite things (I’m a born and raised, proud southern boy).

The fried green tomatoes were fantastic: cut really thin and lightly battered.  I would have liked some sort of sauce to go with them, but I think they were meant more to be a side.  Still, some of the best I’ve tried.  My meatloaf was just okay.  The meat had a weird texture.  It almost seemed like it was processed… Could it be that this is a frozen mixture, and not something they make themselves?  The “Creole sauce” on top was a spicy tomato sauce, not bad, but nothing special.  I’ve had much better versions of meatloaf: Greenwood’s in Roswell (probably my favorite), Agnes and Muriel’s, my mom’s, and The Diner at Crabapple are just a few that come to mind.  The sides were great.  It’s hard to make green beans stand out and these didn’t, and the macaroni-and-cheese was better than average.

I would like to visit OK Cafe again.  It wasn’t a horrible meal, it was just OK.  They must be doing something right if they’re drawing such large crowds.  OK Cafe is located at 1284 W Paces Ferry Rd.  They are open from 7am – 11pm or later, 7 days a week.  Entrees range $10-15, including 2 sides.

Website

Ok Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

